

















































Edition 25

Date: 10<sup>th</sup> April,2020

## Dear All,

## **Greetings from Praja Foundation!**

Praja Team visited Agartala, Tripura in the last week of January 2020, to study the urban governance structures and reforms implemented in the state. The Tripura Municipal Act (TMA), 1994 was one of the first acts enacted after the 74<sup>th</sup> Constitution Amendment Act in 1993. The city governments in Tripura are formed under the TMA, 1994. Tripura has 6 nagar panchayats, 13 municipal councils and municipal corporation of Agartala.





## **Deliberative Committee Structure of the Corporation**

The Agartala Municipal Corporation has an efficient and robust deliberative three tiered committee structure. The committees consist of the ward committee at ward level, zonal advisory committee at zonal level (5-6 wards per zone) and the Mayor in Council (MIC).

The Ward Councillor is the chairman of the **ward committee** along with a ward secretary and 6-7 selected members from the ward. The committee is notified to the Mayor and the Commissioner and minutes of the meeting are also recorded. Ward Committee meetings take place once a month but citizen participation is not allowed in the same. Budgetary suggestions from the ward are given to the Zonal Advisory Committee.

The **Zonal Advisory Committee** (ZAC) is formed at the zonal level. Agartala has four zones thus, there are four ZACs. The councillors of each ward in the respective zones are members of the ZAC. The chairperson of the committee is one of the member of MIC (MMIC) selected by the Mayor. Zonal administrative officers are also a part of the ZAC. The role of the ZAC is to ensure the implementation of the decisions taken by MIC in their zones, monitoring the ongoing projects and advisory role to the MIC. The ZAC also consolidates the budgetary suggestions, deliberate on it and send recommendations to the MIC and the committee meets twice a month.

Tripura has a Mayor-In-Council system which is similar to the cabinet system of the Prime Minister. The Mayor selects the members of the MIC. There are 10 members in MIC including the Mayor and Deputy Mayor. Each MMIC is given one department. There are subject committees also formed if necessary under the MMIC. All the decisions are first deliberated in MIC and then passed or presented in the council. The department and the municipal officials of the departments are accountable and answerable to the respective MMICs. The Commissioner is a part of the MIC as well and he/she has to be present in any MIC meeting, without which the meeting will be suspended. The MIC meetings happen once every week. Furthermore, the MIC also has a provision to suspend the commissioner by passing a resolution. The MIC has the responsibility to deliberate and pass the budget, which will then be presented in the council.

## **Empowered Councillors**

There are 49 wards in Agartala and a total of 53 councillors (49 ward councillors and 4 nominated councillors). Each ward councillor has a ward office along with a ward secretary and staff. The Councillors receive a sitting allowance of Rs. 500 per council meeting and MIC meeting. All the councillors also receive an allowance of Rs. 1000 for travel and phone. The byelaws along with procedure rules of the Agartala Municipal Corporation have also been passed and implemented, which ensures and enables councillors to perform their duties and work effectively. However, not all councillors are part of the deliberative committees which effectively leaves out the voice of the opposition.

Important Links -

Tripura Corporation Act, 1994

(https://indiacode.nic.in/bitstream/123456789/11342/1/tripura municipal act 1994.pdf)

Agartala Municipal Corporation website (https://agartalacity.tripura.gov.in/)

Urban Development Department, Government of Tripura (https://udd.tripura.gov.in/)

Agartala Smart City Limited (<a href="https://agartalasmartcity.tripura.gov.in/">https://agartalasmartcity.tripura.gov.in/</a>)

Tripura Urban Planning and Development Authority (<a href="https://tuda.tripura.ind.in/">https://tuda.tripura.ind.in/</a>)

Kind Regards,

Nitai Mehta

Managing Trustee, Praja Foundation

Milind Mhaske

M. li Mhasle.

Director, Praja Foundation

